An Interview With Erin Bowman

I recently caught up with singer Erin Bowman where we talk about her new single, festival survival tips, first CD and more!  If you haven’t heard of Erin, here is a little bit about her.

Erin Bowman Hey Summer (sm)

Erin Bowman is 23-year-old New Jersey native has been blowing up the airwaves with her catchy tunes, becoming Sirius XM 20 on 20’s top 5 most requested artist of 2012. Her new single “Hey Summer” is now currently in rotation on the station and a handful of others where you can watch her latest music video for the new single below.

Introduce yourself and tell us what 3 songs would we find on your summer playlist of 2014?

Hey! I’m Erin Bowman and I’m a pop singer/songwriter from NJ! I’m stuck in the 90’s and early 2000’s so I’d have to say “Summer Girl’s” by LFO, “Miami” by Will Smith, and “Hollaback Girl” by Gwen Stefani!!!

What does a typical day in the life of Erin Bowman consist of?

I’m constantly writing songs. Whether it’s on my own at home or going into NYC for writing sessions, this girl is writing!!! haha Vocal warm ups and keeping up with my social media are also on my daily agenda. This social media stuff is so important. Staying in touch with your fans is huge!!

You recently released your single ‘Hey Summer!’ How has the response been so far from your fans?

I think most people love summer just as much as I do so the response has been great! It’s so nice to get those comments on Facebook, YouTube, and/or twitter telling me how much they love the single! So nice to know people are liking it!

What was the writing process for the new single?

I wrote most of the chorus for “Hey Summer” a while back and months later I had a session with another writer and sang what I had written and he liked it so together we worked on the rest of the song!

What is the music scene like in New Jersey, as I know that’s where you grew up?

I think NJ has a lot of aspiring bands but when it comes to the music I write and perform I think your best bet is New York and/or L.A. As soon as I graduated high school I started going into NYC looking for opportunities!

Do you think the music you grew up listening to has influenced you in terms of song writing and performance?

Absolutely! I had such great music to listen to growing up. Not only the new stuff but also the oldies that I heard my parents listening to! Growing up watching Britney Spears perform…. how could that not influence someone?!

Describe your music in 3 words.

Real. Catchy. Quirky.

What was the first CD you ever brought?

I hate that people can remember this because I can’t and I so wish I could!!!! I can however tell you that I had a Spice Girl’s cassette and jammed out quite a bit to “My Boyfriend’s Back” by the Angels that I had on this 60’s party mix cassette!

For anyone who hasn’t heard of Erin Bowman, what song would you recommend they listen to in order to sum up your music?

My new EP that should be out within the next few months has a song on it that really sums me up but because that’s not out yet I’d say “King Boy” is a good one to listen to. I’m pretty quirky and “King Boy”, especially the bridge, really shows that!

Your single ‘Problems’, which was released in 2011 became a top 5 requested song on Sirius XM’s 20 on 20 in less than 4 weeks. What was your initial reaction when you heard this, especially with 4 weeks being a short amount of time?

I’ve learned so much about radio these past few years but “Problem” was the first song I released so I didn’t know too much back then. Of course I knew to be excited haha because after only 4 weeks that’s awesome. With what I know now, it’s even more exciting to think back and know that happened!

If you weren’t pursuing a career in music, what do you think you would be doing right now?

Wow, I have no idea!!! Which is why music has to work out for me haha There really is nothing else I’d want to be doing!

If you could choose 2 people to spend the summer with, who would they be and why?

Ah love this question! One would definitely be Taylor Swift because I just love Taylor Swift! Simple as that, the girl is fantastic!!! The other person would be Britney Spears!! Again, just cause I love her! She’s had such a long career and she’s such a great entertainer but still just seems like a down to earth girl from the south. And I love that about Britney!

Erin’s top 5 tips for surviving a festival?

I feel so ashamed to say this but I have never been to a music festival!! I know, I know… I’m a musician and have never been to a music festival. I said I was ashamed alright??!!! So my question for the people reading this is what 5 tips for surviving a festival are when I go to my first one?! Help me out here!

What is one thing that you eventually hope to tick off your buck list as a musician?

I’d love to sell a million copies of an album in it’s first week! I think that really says something about your fans and the work you put out and I would really love to be able to do that.

Where can people go to check out your music or anything about you?

http://www.erinbowman.net

Follow me on twitter and instagram @erinbowmanmusic and check out my music at youtube.com/erinbowmanmusic

Thanks so much!!!


 

 

Leave a Reply

