It’s been an experience: 2014

Not long to go now before 2014 comes to a close. I mean it is quite emotional as so much has gone on in this year alone, both good and bad. But all we can do is look to the future and like Kids In Glass Houses said “The Best Is Yet To Come”. From Tumblr’s new year tag, I took some questions and answered them to sort of sum up the year as a whole. Want to give this a go? Check out the full list of questions here.

Describe your year in one word: Roller-coaster

Describe your year with song lyrics: “But devour the cynics, Dismiss the critics”- ‘Dreamcatcher’ by Set It Off

Describe your year with a quote/quotes: “To Infinity and Beyond”- Toy Story

Best memories from 2014? I’ve had quite a few good memories this year, but I’d have to say one that I will remember forever (I hope) is when I got to interview Blitz Kids for Altsounds at the last day of their UK headline tour. You can check out the interview here.

Who were the most meaningful people in your life this past year? Friends and Family.

Did any major life changes happen to you in the past year? I wouldn’t say major, but I started my placement for the music site Altsounds at the start of the year which has given me a lot of opportunities in terms of getting my foot in the door when it comes to what I want to continue doing after my university course, which is music journalism.

Who’s the coolest person you met in 2014? I’d have to say Tyler Carter from Issues and Tay Jardine from We Are The In Crowd.

Any regrets concerning the past year? Maybe having a lot of self doubt in this year especially. There was always a reason as to what I felt but sometimes I couldn’t look past it, which then left me feeling not myself for a long time. This is something that I feel like is improving in this month, but hope to get rid of it more or less completely in the new year.

Would you say you had a good year? Yup, I wold say that. I mean everything’s not going to go your way for a number of reasons but you can only always do your best I believe. This year sort of felt like a test and now as the new year approaches, I can look back to improve on the mistakes of 2014.

What’s the greatest achievement you made this year? Passing my first year of university, especially when I was doubting myself for the whole time. Even when I put a load of effort into it, I still had the thought of failing and not being good enough. Passing the first year taught me I can get through the 3 years of University and progress.

What’s the best thing that was said to you this year? I can’t really remember much from the first few months as that was so stressful but referring back to when I interviewed Blitz Kids after the interview they said that was the most they had laughed in a long time. This made my day as it’s always a pleasure to make someone feel something, especially as they are one band that do the exact to me when I listen to their music.

Best book you read in 2014? ‘The Love And Death of Kurt Cobain’ by Max Wallace and Ian Halperin. And Michael Jackson’s ‘The Magic And The Madness’ by J.Randy Taraborrelli.

Best TV show you watched in 2014? Pretty Little Liars and Breaking Bad. Even though they both started before this year, I re watched them from the start and loved them!

Best movie you saw in 2014? Bad Neighbours and Paddington

Best song you heard in 2014? ‘Shout At The Moon’ by Mallory Knox

Most boring day of the year? Probably when I had to go into University for a matter of minutes, just to find out there was nothing productive going on.

Did 2014 meet your expectations? This year in particular, I mainly took each day as it came so there wasn’t really much to expect. But keeping positive, I would say I was able too tick a few things off my list of achievements so that’s always a bonus!

Would you say you’ve changed during this year? Not too sure really, maybe gained a little more confidence I guess.

What’s the bravest thing you did in 2014? I consider this to be brave in a way as I’m not the most confident of people. Put myself out there in terms of gaining more content for Altsounds and this mainly relates to interviews, especially the face to faces interviews.

What’s the hardest thing you did in 2014? To a lot of people, it may not seem like the hardest of situations, but to me it’s always a big deal- presentations. University requires you to do a lot of these and I’m not the most talkative of people when I have to talk about something that requires a whole load of research as it seems forced. Plus I’m always a nervous wreck when it comes to this.

What songs do you think will make you remember this year? ‘Why Worry’ and ‘Tomorrow’ by Set It Off, ‘I want Out’ by Young Guns, ‘Never Lose Your Flames’ by Issues and ‘Perfect’ by Blitz Kids

Did this year teach you anything? Not to be so hard on myself and not to care too much of what other people think of me. That’s been something that has been ongoing for a long time now that I hope will improve over the new year. And to just go for it! If you don’t, you’ll never know and will generally lead to regretting it later on.

What do you expect from the new year? Just less stress haha, more awareness, interviews and happiness!

 

Leave a Reply

