Interview With Josey Milner

Country singer, Josey Milner speaks to Sarah Akomanyi, about her brand new single, ‘Not Pretty Enough’, which reached number 3 on the Indie World chart. She also speaks about her fans, music inspirations, advice and more.

What is one thing that your fans would be surprised to hear about you?

One thing that my fans might be surprised about would be that I’m a senior in high school as well as a straight “A” student and in National Honor Society. Outside of high school, I’m also a pageant title holder and a spokesperson for a nonprofit anti-bullying organization, Angels and Doves.

Can you tell us 2 fun facts about yourself?

Two fun facts about me is that I did rodeo for eight years before I got into my music and I bake whenever I have extra time. I can make some pretty mean pineapple upside down cupcakes.

What are your top 5 most played songs on your Ipod at the moment?

My top five most played songs are:
1. Royals by Lorde
2. Hey Pretty Girl by Kip Moore
3. We Were Us by Keith Urban/Miranda Lambert
4. Point At You by Justin Moore
5. Roar by Katy Perry

Who inspired you to get into music, to decide to give up barrel racing to start a band?

I’ve always been singing, no matter when or where. I started singing the National Anthem at my rodeos, which led to me being invited to sing at the National Steel Guitar Convention in St. Louis, MO when I was 14. It was there that I was told I should get a band together and try out the career. People told me that they thought I had a lot of potential and could go far. So I held auditions, got a band together, and started the career. And  because of how often shows were, and considering they were mostly on weekends just like rodeos, it was something I had to choose between, so I made my decision based on how well I thought I could do.

Josey-Milner-Not-Pretty-Enough-Single-Cover-2

Do you have any advice to anyone who is interested in pursuing a career in the music industry?

If I could give any advice, it would be to never give up. It’s a cliche phrase, but it is so true. You have to always be 110% dedicated to this career. Things will get hard and frustrating, but you just have to push through it and not let anyone tell you that you can’t do it. You CAN.

As an anti bullying advocate, I think you have been a true inspiration to many people who suffer from bullying. If there was one thing that you could say to people struggling with this, what would it be? 

People are always going to try to tear you down, but you can’t let them. Everyone is different. Everyone has different fashion styles, music choices, and interests/hobbies. You are perfectly fine just the way you are. You are worth it and don’t let anyone ever tell you that you’re not.

‘Not Pretty Enough’ seems to have had such a positive effect on your fans. What influenced you to write this song?

Not Pretty Enough was a song that my manager, Michael, found. He thought it would be a good one for me to do, so he sent it over to me and I loved it, especially the lyrics. Unfortunately I did not write it. It’s such a great song and I’m so excited about everything that it’s done for me. What that song stands for and what it’s incorporated with is always something people tell me they appreciate. I’m still having people contacting me and telling me stories about real life experiences with bullying. It’s so heart warming to know people really care about what I’m doing and love what I’m doing.

What does a day in the life of Josey Milner consist of on tour?

It kind of depends. Sometimes days can get really crazy, especially if it’s on a school day, and others can just be a wake up, get ready and go perform. If it’s on one of them crazy days, then it’s wake up, get ready for school, go to school for eight hours, come home, grab a quick bite to eat, get ready for the show (change clothes, curl hair, etc.) and then go perform. Life can get pretty interesting at home.

What’s next?

What’s next for me is to definitely just keep working with this career. I’m working on getting my next single out there, which hopefully will be soon, so I’m very excited for that. Besides the single, just continuing to play at with my band, record music, and build this career as much as possible. Outside of music, I’m also working to finish up my senior year of high school and get things for college set up. Just a little bit of everything.

Keep up to date with Josey Milner on YouTube/ Facebook/ Official Website/ Twitter

Leave a Reply

